The Offer

It was unexpected.
It was a grab-and-run chance.
It was there, dangling in front of me.
It was sitting there patiently, waiting for acceptance.
It was expecting me.

I asked my friends.
I asked my mentor.
I have forgotten about myself.
I have forgotten about my heart.
I have forgotten about my mind.

I waited.
I dragged.
I pondered.
I thought through.
I accepted.

I have long made the decision, which I have buried deep within me. But the thought of having a choice to choose was too tempting for me, since I have long wanted to experience the feeling. When the call came in, I froze. I then began thinking. And I finally turned the interview and admission test down and withdrew my application. It was still early, and my decision is fixed. Unshaken.

Leave a Reply

