Untitled

I asked myself this question recently:
When was I truly proud of myself?

Was it when I won in some competitions?
Was it when I obtained a perfect GPA?
Was it when I obtained a Diploma with Merit?
Was it when I gained admission into the university?

Well.. there was attention given to me then.
But was I truly proud of myself? I pondered.
No. Because those were the results of my effort,
I may be proud of those,
but I am certainty more proud that I have made that effort.

For today, I didn’t take long to answer the question.
Yesterday, I was truly proud of myself.
Not because there was a recognition, or an achievement.
Because I was truly proud of myself for what I have done.

I spent hours, trying to make sense of it.
I wanted to ask for help,
but I didn’t want to bother anyone anymore.
I want to count on myself.

It may be agonizing and confusing for hours,
but I made it. I saw the light and I was overwhelmed.
Everything went on smoothly that I even helped my friend
to see that light, to continue walking with that light.

It was not anything grand, or big.
It may not be anything worthy at all.
But to me, I was truly proud of myself.
And I felt great. 🙂

Leave a Reply

