In water

I am still in water.
Weekends included.
But the situation is different.
During weekends,
two floats will emerge from nowhere.
Supporting me, keeping me afloat.

I will no longer be tiptoeing,
no longer be grasping for some air.
I am breathing normally.
The seagulls are flying around me,
the weather is good.
The world looks so different.

On Saturdays, the two floats
will allow me to sleep like a baby.
I do whatever I like.
When the clock strikes twelve,
one of the floats will be gone.
Without warning. Without fail.

On Sundays, the one float
will prevent me from drowning.
I do whatever I could to stay afloat.
When the clock strikes twelve,
the only float will be gone.
Without warning. Without fail.

On Mondays, I am left without a float.
Back into the water, struggling.
Am I sinking or am I drowning?
I am no longer sure anymore.
I only know that I will stay alive.
No matter what it takes.

Leave a Reply

