A different today

It is Monday again.
The to-do list runs forever,
to the extent that I can’t see beyond
today. Not even tomorrow.

It feels different today.
There was less hidden pressure,
on my shoulders, on my brain
today. So unlike last week.

I am not drowning today.
The task gets checked off,
one by one. More gets added
today. That’s the usual.

I am not struggling today.
I am still in the water, tiptoed, but
the water is calm. Gradually receding
today. Maybe not for long.

I am different today.
Maybe somewhat happier, and
infinitely more efficient just for
today. I hope the same for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

