The People

I was there because you were.
You asked me to be there.
So I went, no matter what.
I turned up anything, simply
Because of you.

This time, you will not be there.
And you won’t let me go, for
I am not getting enough sleep.
I told you I will try, simply
Because I know you would like me to.

Now, my mind is finding
All sorts of excuses and reasons,
To justify my unwillingness.
And here’s the thing,
I am not even a single bit guilty.

I am not sorry, but like I always said,
It’s not the work, it’s the people.
I can endure the crashing workload,
If the people are right.
That’s also why, I took the offer.

Three consecutive days of
More than 14 hours of work,
I don’t mind that. It’s the people.
I can deal with it. Because they
Made everything worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

